Albury’s Keystone cops.

Thought I’d relay an incident I observed the other day.

I was on my porch reading a book, heard a disturbance in the park opposite and was dismayed to see a guy beating up a woman.

My first instinct was to go lay him low but then I thought “no, do it properly, let the police handle it”.

So I called them, in due course a convoy of police vehicles has turned up (after doing a full lap of the park and disappearing down a side street in true “Keystone cops” fashion).

When they pulled up, I told them what I’d seen and pointed them in the direction of the guy.

I should point out that the park was far from unoccupied at this point, there were approximately sixty children ranging in age from around nine to maybe 15 in the park training for rugby.

There were a number of adult supervisors too, all did nothing.

One of the officers has asked me if the guy has actually punched her (apparently it’s acceptable by police standards to throw a woman by the head rag-doll fashion to the ground, but not to actually punch her).

I told him what I’d seen and said I was prepared to make a statement.

Said cop proceeds to go over to this guy (with around six other officers in tow), I didn’t hear what was said, but there was a lot of toe-ing of the ground and then…they get back in their cars and drive off.

Guy walks away.

Not taken into custody, not even searched for weapons, no “can we see some identification” just off you go home, you’ve been a naughty boy.

Can anyone explain to me how a guy gets to bash a woman in front of sixty (or so) kids, witnesses all around, police attend and he just gets to walk away? Because I certainly don’t get it.

Albury’s “top cop” can go into bat for his officers with open public letters till the cows come home, but blatantly stupid misuse of police discretionary powers like this just make me wonder why we bother with a police force at all.

Perhaps a little more time spent cleaning house and ferreting out the undesirables among his own ranks and a little less time spent issuing PR spin might be a worthwhile excercise.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Albury’s Keystone cops.

  1. Roman says:

    Big drug busts are more of a news item it seems by police instead of protecting women being abused or charging the bloke as top news. Its sad to see police doing nothing, to much paper work for them..?

    Police do have a difficult job and most likely need more police out on the beat, but police are suppose to be there and protect women and the paper work should come second.

    The police may say the bloke will get off via the court system, would she have made charges against him? Would he bash (later) for give evidence against him if he gets out in a couple of days.

    But after all that:- the police should have followed through because the assults would mount up eventually as proof with the continuous assalts at her by this bloke, and the evidence against him, he would get a longer sentence. Would she leave and make a new life elsewhere, are there any children by the couple.

    Ya its difficult and understand your frustration-but something must be do to protect women from being bashed by men, its to common. And the police know it too.

  2. yeah it’s BS huh?
    I have it quite good authority that this same guy was arrested a couple days later, sadly though, it’s a bit of a case of his next victim being left vulnerable by the police inactivity of a couple of days prior.

  3. Mick says:

    How about being a man and going over and doing something about it yourself instead of waiting for the cops to show up? At least make your presence known or somethine for crying out loud.

    Man up, nancy.

  4. slick says:

    I beleive many people just ignore whats happening and are scared to say something many examples have shown people get stabbed or attacked for saying something. So the attitude of not getting involved is understood to some respect. But there was a large number of people at that park and if you had stood together and aproached him he would do nothing. And in most situations of assualt in streets there are enough good respectable people around who if backed one another these pathetic try hard heros picking on easy targets would shrink down and flee. So i say if you see something not right ask people around to assist in stopping it, or if you see someone trying to help back them up you only need to be a precence. Most people will step back and think when a crowd of people starts forming and telling them what they are doing is wrong. But do not become the thugs and turn it around and start to be the angry mob who start attacking them until they are in hospital. Be human and stand together.

  5. I think I’d have to be an absolute idiot to walk out the front door of my house and go confront an obvious psychopath.
    He’d know precisely where I lived, when I was home and where I could be reached at any time. To me he’d just be some random I may or may not recognise in a line-up and one the police already obviously had in their sights.
    There’s a bigger picture to think about than engaging in some pissing contest with an obvious idiot.
    My home and the people I care about are all far more important than “who can beat their chest the loudest”.
    It’s not like I did nothing, I did precisely what was legally expected of me without jeapordising the safety of my home and the people I care about.

    Think it through “Mick”.

    “Slick” I agree, so much horror and avoidable carnage can be put down to essentially stupid “my dick is bigger than your dick” behaviour, mainly, among blokes.
    I don’t have any solutions, I read a book a few years back called Demonic Males , it didn’t offer much hope.

    Of the five species of great apes, only one (the Bonobos) is not afflicted by the terrible scourge of violence and it survives only because it is geographically isolated from three (Humans, Gorillas and Chimpanzees).

    Of course this assumes your’e not of the “man created in God’s own image” ilk.

Leave a Reply

