Still up to my elbows in dirt

Apologies for the continuing lack of fresh posts on this blog, as I mentioned previously I have been working away on my vegetable garden, native re vegetation project and a number of other things which are occurring at my place (no that’s not a photo of my garden, it’s a photo I boosted, MY corn looks HEAPS better!!).

In any rate, the soil enrichment programme I have embarked on is quite time consuming (and labour intensive), in any rate I’ll endeavour to get SOMETHING of substance written in the foreseeable future (bringing the number of substantial posts on this blog to one).

Hope you’re all well.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Agriculture, Editorial, Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Still up to my elbows in dirt

  1. jr says:

    Jack, if there’s one thing I learnt in my own vegie growing days, it was that the amount of water needed to grow corn was not very often productive in relation to the harvest.

    I found that broad beans, tomatoes, cauliflowers and such were much more in line with proportional volumetric results.

    I’m just sayin’. 😉

  2. I’m using a very effective mulch so the water required is not as diabolical as you may think.

    I like to boil the water THEN pick the corn, as the corn sugars turn into starch from the moment they are harvested the sugar content is at it’s peak within a few minuites of being picked.

    I reckon store bought corn can’t compete for freshness, flavour or nutrient value.

    I had a good harvest of broad beans and my tomatoes are looking pretty good (if I may say so myself).

    Incidentally I planted a “green zebra” tomato which remains green even when ripe, only trouble is…how do you KNOW when they are ripe?

    Any suggestions?

  3. Kieran says:

    Greg, I’ve been preparing a special spot for one of your seedlings. I’m going to grow the biggest pumpkin you’ve ever seen!

  4. Greg Naylor says:

    I am coming to Albury on Christmas eve (Wednesday) and will have your seedling on board. Call me on 57298081 and we can make arrangements

  5. awesome Greg, I’ll ring you tonight.

    I have a spare eggplant seedling here if you’d like to swap.

Leave a Reply

