Common sense prevails.

I’m no fan of Wodonga council, there I’ve said it!!

Nonetheless I’m heartily gladdened to hear that common sense and what’s best for the community has prevailed over the vested interests of an overly powerful lobby group.

Namely the yokels protesting over the move of the sale yards.

FFS, it’s a stinking sale-yards, Wodonga is growing and no-one wants to live near it.

It’s called reality, get used to it.

Now a bunch of these spoiled ratbags are threatening to boycott the new sale yards.

Good, I hope they do, the end result will be that it’s the boycotting farmers not the sale yards that go out of business, so it’ll be a good result all round.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Agriculture, Council, Current Events, Editorial, Local Government, Politics, Wodonga. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Common sense prevails.

  1. Glenn says:

    Its good you mention the influence of powerful vested interests in this post.
    Makes me wonder if there weren’t some pretty powerful vested interests on both sides of this silly saga.

  2. Ed Foulston says:

    “Common sense and whats best for the community” what community? am I a member of this community? I am one of many townies that still can not see the sense in spending millions on moving the saleyards just to benefit the developers who bought the land around the saleyards at a premium low price because the saleyards were close. We have gone from the spoilt few, who by the councils own finacial report of 2007 brought $600,000 directly to the council coffers and an indefinate amount to local businesses by shopping etc when they came to town, to the other spoilt few, the developers. Which is the better group for a community? It is also my understanding that at least three of the current council are there on developer funding.
    Yes Wodonga is growing but if you don’t want the smell then don’t buy land near it, it’s not as if the only option available is next door to the saleyards, with the massive amount of land currently under development choice is not limited.
    The threat of a boycott is in itself immature if not financially risky with the next closest saleyards at Wagga but the Wagga saleyards become an option for those farmers existing north of the Border when the extra travel and increased fees from a privately owned saleyards are taken into account.
    We have not been told who the private company is, nor will we but don’t be surprised if it’s not one of the group funding some members standing at the next council elections.

  3. Andrew says:

    What happened to this blog???

    Am I wrong to assume it’s slowed quite a bit lately?

    I use to come here all the time and there was new postings but now it’s more of a weekly article.

  4. JULIE EMMINS says:

    HEAR HEAR Mr Ed Foulston,
    I am also a council nominee and wish you the best of luck. We need people like you and me in. I am a resident of Killara which gets the cattle yard smells, and it aint an issue..(if it was I wouldnt buy here). The issue is other smells we get instead. People who love farming life but cant afford a farm would say living here is 2nd best. The kids and I love walking past and taking in the view.
    And everything you’ve said is spot on. Moving it is a huge risk when you listen to farmers and their plans instead. (It will end up being less money to council).
    And the issue with our current council is the truth and whole truth isnt spoken (I want in to put the facts straight!) Because at current who I speak to;
    1) haven’t got a clue or
    2) change topics when you ask the serious stuff.
    Again good luck

  5. Julie,
    a simple question on the last paragraph – whom did you actually speak to at the current council? Because I’d love you to name those that:
    1/ ” haven’t got a clue ” and
    2/ ” change topics when you ask the serious stuff ”

    But as far as the saleyards decision goes you need to be careful when presenting an opinion as a candidate. You show clear bias, as you wish to keep the facility near you in order to enjoy the amenity withot contributing to its upkeep – you said your kids like walking past, and it feels like being on a farm, while you do not have the expenses of running a farm… What Kieran has done with his comment is different – he presented his opinion but did not show bias.
    We live very close to the site of the previous saleyards. I hear that when they were moving them to Bandiana there were people protesting… Now real estate agents advertise this area as “Central Wodonga” 😉

    BTW, I love young people getting involved, and hope the council gets a good dose of change!

    All the best,
    Lubosh

Leave a Reply

