What the….??

Ah Deniliqun, home of the “ute on a stick”, the “ute muster” and generally all things “ute” may now have a new claim to fame, Deniliquin may prove to be home to the smallest, most insignificant, drug bust in Australian law enforcement history.

A true waste of police, court and media resources if ever there was one.

As briefly described in this “breaking news” article, where else but in the Border Mail.

Apparently it took a team of detectives to raid a house and net a whopping haul of 15 grams of cannabis.

That’s right, you didn’t misread, 15 lousy grams.

Admittedly I am assuming they executed the warrant in search of drugs, given that according to the Border Mail report, an unspecified quantity of cash was also seized.

Had the warrant been executed searching for weapons, stolen goods, a fugitive or something and netted 15 grams of cannabis in the process that is a slightly different matter, but 15 grams? They executed a warrant for 15 measly grams?

Please, I’ve been to parties with a communal bowl bigger than that.

15 grams as a traffic able quantity? Please, that’s personal use. Small potatoes.

Hardly worth the police time, and certainly not newsworthy.

In fact I wouldn’t mind a seat in the public gallery when the matter goes before a magistrate, just to see if he (or she) laughs as hard as I did at the pathetic “fruits” of Deniliqin CIB’s “raid”.

Honestly, I know a few pubs they could pass the hat around at the end of the night and probably come up with more than 15 grams if they are that hard up.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Crime, Editorial, Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

