Albury library up to speed, what about the rest?

One inadvertant consequence of the recent construction of the Albury library/ museum has been to highlight the shortfall in services of other libraries within the Upper Murray Regional Library (UMRL) network.

While there are certainly numerous bugs to be ironed out in the library museum (off the top of my head, the meeting rooms are hired out at a far too expensive rate to make them accessible to many community groups, the computer network seems to have inadequate virus protection resulting in lost function and any number of computers being out of action at any given time) overall it is an excellent community resource.

For the people who live in central Albury.

In fact you’d be forgiven for thinking Albury library is the only library in the network, so chuffed is Greater Hume shire council with it’s new flagship.

In fact there are libraries in Beechworth, Chiltern, Corowa, Corryong, Holbrook, Lavington, Mulwala, Rutherglen, Tallangata, Tumbarumba, Wodonga as well as a mobile library service.

Not that you’d know it, while I certainly haven’t visited all the libraries in the network, the ones I have, I couldn’t help but notice just how far below the bar they fall by comparison with the library/ museum.

In Lavington for instance, there are a mere five computers, demand on these has been such that the staff have had to limit use of these to half an hour per day.

Half the time available in Albury.

In Wodonga, it’s a similar story, too few computers to meet demand, at both Lavington and Wodonga there is no provision of computers for the visually impaired for instance, wheelchair access particularly in the Lavington library is, frankly, a bit of a joke.

Certainly I don’t intend this as a whinge, I think the Albury library is an excellent facility as I’ve said before, but it has highlighted the shortfall in services to other library branches and effectively, widened the gap between branches in terms of services offered.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Council, Editorial, Media. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Albury library up to speed, what about the rest?

  1. jr says:

    I have no need to use the PC’s @ my Wodonga library, Jack, but all the service I receive in the book lending area is A1.

  2. oh I think the library staff do a first rate job JR, I just think it’s a bit sad that the staff (and borrowers) at the Albury city library have access to so much better facilities than those at other libraries.

  3. Andrew says:

    dfgdfgdfgdfg

Leave a Reply

