the Centro farce….the buck-passing continues.

So, in my last post, I relayed the tale of scum-bags occupying disabled parking spaces illegally and the wave of apathy on all sides which accompanied it.

As you’ll recall I vowed to follow up with the council whom the police assured me were indeed responsible for issuing infringement notices in Centro car park.

Well guess what?

That’s right, the council deny any responsibility whatsoever, claim it’s private property and the owners (Centro) are entitled to do whatever they want there.

Moreover he informs me that it’s NOT illegal to abuse disabled parking as, you guessed it, it’s occurring on private property.

Bottom line, council too, wash their hands and don’t want to know about parking for the disabled.

So, tenacious little bugger that I am, armed with this new information I rang back Centro Lavington.

“Can I speak with the centre manager please” I asked.

“No” came the abrupt reply.

No “oh sorry he/ she isn’t available at the moment”.

No “can I take a message”.

Just “No” and then-get this- HANGS UP!!!

Obviously I rang back and demanded to speak with the centre manager and was fobbed off with “well their not here at the moment”.

I left my name and contact details, I doubt they were even written down much less passed on.

My next avenue, will be to knock on the doors of the mainstream media to see if I can spread the sullied name of Centro far and wide.

Beyond that, petitioning our state and federal members, given their political allegiance though, I doubt they’d stand up for anything other than false-hood, injustice and the un-Ausralian way.

My prediction, they’ll take Centro’s side, right down to the wire. 

Still, it’s not all doom and gloom.

I can’t think of a corporate obscenity which deserves to go belly-up more, can you?

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Council, Crime, Editorial, Local Government. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the Centro farce….the buck-passing continues.

  1. jr says:

    Jack, Wodonga Plaza (Centro owned) has a number of legal (by state regulations) “Zebra” striped pedestrian crossings with legal signage and all. If this was indeed private property those crossings would not be legally recognized as such.

    Wanna test it out? See who comes running first when you get “hit” by a car on one of these crossings.

    Go get’m tiger!

  2. Well if you drive and promise to be gentle JR, it might be a way to add to Centro’s $2.1 Billion loss by slugging them with a civil suit.

    Nonetheless, it does seem to be a convoluted way to go about ensuring that people who operate a public space for profit meet their obligations in terms of providing access for the disabled.

    I’m pretty sure virtually all public buildings have to be wheelchair accesable before they get approval at the planning stage, I’m absolutely certain that if local government took exception to this appaling set of circumstances and decided to do something about it, there would be SOME way they could enforce parking there, even if it took passing a new by-law to do it.

    Ultimately though, local government have joined the chorus of appathy that has sprung up on all sides around this issue.

  3. jr says:

    Absolutely right, Jack.

    A number of years ago, during the upgrading of the Safeway store in High St, I was so affected by the toxic fumes emanating from the installation of new floor covering inside the store, that I had to leave the building and finished up dry retching in the car park.

    I had observed staff in the deli section wearing masks before it hit me. So I thought about it for a minute and wondered, if it was so bad and staff had to wear protection, what about the customers?

    Upon ringing the council to make enquiries, I was told they had no jurisdiction, that Woolworths had their own council equivalent of the health surveyor on site! Figures, huh?

    Oh, and about trusting my ability to drive gently, Jack, a bravery award for you might be the go now, rather than posthumously.

  4. it’s amazing just how far governments are prepared to be laissez faire on social justice issues/ health concerns/ common decency in the interests of a quick buck huh?

    I think it’s absolutely certain that if Centro was a not for profit organisation and council wasn’t into them for a fortune in rates they’d be all over this like a rash.

Leave a Reply

