Saleyards impass, the way forward.

In light of the very public disagreement between local redneckscockies and Wodonga council over the location of the Wodonga sale-yards, I think the way forward is patently obvious, instead of moving the sale-yards to Bandiana, they should be relocated to their original location, the current site of the soon-to-be-disused Stanley Street pool complex.

Pouring millions upon millions of public dollars into a high density agricultural site located in an area earmarked for residential development is clearly a wise investment after all. 

Who wouldn’t want to wake up in the morning to the brisk stench aroma of ammonia and faeces?

Who wouldn’t want to hear the low mournful drone of herds of cattle rounded up to be slaughtered?

Coccidiosis, Anthrax, Black-leg, Brucellosis

I predict property values will skyrocket.

Perhaps a nice abattoir and the relocation of the sewerage treatment works to the CBD might be a worthwhile inclusion in the railway diversion project while we are at it.

The Wodonga council could employ an unemployed garden gnome at consultant rates to invent a back-story for it and hang a few Christmas lights here and there.

It’ll be a tourist attraction really.

If anyone dares whinge that they are put out by the titled aristocracy  farmers, they could rightly respond that the sale-yards were there first.

“Progress? I’m only ‘fer it if it don’t inconvenience me in the slightest”

Disclaimer: This post is intended as tounge-in-cheek commentary, moving either the sale-yards, the sewerage works or the abattoir into the Wodonga CBD is a heartily stupid thing to do and is not endorsed in any way by this author.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Agriculture, Council, Current Events, Editorial, Local Government, Media, Politics, Wodonga. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Saleyards impass, the way forward.

  1. raydixon says:

    Small-town mentality, retrogrades & hillbillies are not just confined to little backwaters like Bright, it seems.

  2. there’s enough to go ’round Ray, that’s for sure.

  3. Ed Foulston says:

    I am one of those “silent majority” who normally sit back and listen to everyone else with my only input being “tut tut, what a disgrace someone should do something about that” but I am getting to the stage that maybe I should be more involved in things about town. My ill informed position is this: The saleyards bring to Wodonga Council approximately one million dollars a year in accrued funds. Past councils spent between $50,000 – $100,000/annum on upgrades and maintanence, this council has neglected to do so and now are in the position of having to spend a tidy sum on bringing them back upto best practice. This council has also paid a $20,000 non-refundable deposit on a 2.5 million dollar parcell of land close to the Logic centre? This area is part of the Murray Catchment and as such needs EPA approval to construct stockyards as the runoff will drain into the Murray.
    So why does the council want to move the stockyads, I am wondering if it has anything to do with the sale of adjacent land to housing developers. There is requirement under current council regulations for a fairly substantial corridor to be kept between the saleyards and any housing and as far as any developer would be concerned this would be “dead money” and with the stockyards being close the developed land value would also be substantially less, so for this pro developement council the answer is simple, move the saleyards.
    As I said earlier in my post I am ill informed so if anyone would like to inform me then I am willing to be “educated”

  4. I think it’s pretty obvious that the Wodonga council do indeed want to move the saleyards because of the housing development.
    Fair enough really, I mean who’d buy a property within wafting distance of a saleyards? No-one with a sense of smell I suspect.

    I can’t condemn the council for investing in the Logic centre either (much as I like to condemn them every chance I get) it’s a much needed investment in infrastructure and one which should see an increased role in rail transport of heavy freight rather than the heavily petrol dependant use of trucks as the primary mode of transport as we have seen to date.

    I seriously doubt that the EPA is going to approve a saleyards reconstruction that sees contaminated water being drained into the aquifer, I just can’t see it happening, so if Wodonga council IS going to relocate the saleyards (and I see no real reason they shouldn’t other than appeasing a vocal minority just weeks out from an election) then t’s reasonable to assume that they will have to satisfy EPA requisites before they do so.

    Simply put I think the red-necks have become far too used to calling the shots and when the council has the audacious gall to even think about a project which is in the greater communities interests rather than the vested interests of a privelidged few, they act like their throats are cut.

    It’s a bit rich if you ask me.

  5. Ed Foulston says:

    What came first the chicken or the egg, the sale yards have been there for a long time so why buy the adjoining land? because its cheap. The risk of the occasional pleasant aroma of anilmals wafting across the buffer zone depending on prevailing winds may be a small deterent but people were happy to buy land next to the rendering works for the right price, ie cheap. What happens next for the poor developer is that without lifting a finger the parcel of saleable land has increased, no need for a buffer zone, and the average price of a block has also increased, no smell. More profit for the developer little effect for the ratepayers who now have to pay for the relocation of the saleyards, including land purchase, building the new saleyards and the necessary infrastructure. I would agree with your point about the Logic center if in fact road traffic in Wodonga were to decrease but I am unclear as to how the goods are to moved from Wodonga to the Logic center and vice versa except, by dare I say it, truck.

  6. JULIE EMMINS says:

    Again hear hear Mr Ed.
    All council is thinking of is developers. The big people. And as I have mentioned elsewhere before I have no issue living near the saleyards…and if people do don’t buy there, because seriously who would have issues? People who have their nose in the air and just not enough big bucks to live in the city to start with.
    And the biggest thing I want to know but no-one dares answers…is the saleyards making $330,000 or alike per year in profit? And is the whole lot spent elsewhere? If so no wonder its going downhill. (Heard on the grapevine with Council ignoring my question).

Leave a Reply

