QE2 Square, visions for the future.

Some of you might be aware that this past weekend played host to a public forum to discuss options for the redevelopment of QEII Square.

With the opening of the current library museum and subsequent demolition of the old library building and planned demolition of the administrative part of St Matthew’s Anglican Church due to take place early next year, the time is clearly right for public discussion on the future of the site.

I had a chuckle to myself when one suggestion came forth to put the PS Cumberoona there.

I’ll be generous and assume the individual had been drinking, I know in the past I’ve waken the next day aghast at something I had said the previous evening.

As I see it, the problems with the current QE2 Square (apart from the name which smacks of a cringe-worthy sycophantic outburst from pig-iron Bob Menzies “I did but see her passing by…”) are that it’s unsafe after dark, it’s style has dated and it does little to enhance the focus of ourCBD.

Recent incidents have highlighted that QE2 square can be an unsafe place even in daylight hours, it’s space pedestrian traffic and virtual labyrinth of alleys provide ample cover for all manner of anti-social activity.

Dumping a dirty great paddle steamer in the middle of the space would compound this exponentially.

As I see it, there is already a clear theme established for the site, it is bordered by the Murray music conservatorium, the Regional art-gallery, the performing arts centre and the conference centre.

Clearly, it is Albury’s cultural events hub.

I’d suggest that judicious use of public moneys to create a space in which the public can interact with a public arts project is the best way forward.

Such a project would need to be well lit, provide ample physical access to retain the space as a thoroughfare, be an iconic (and maintenance free) landmark for the city of Albury as well as highlighting the diversity of cultural and artistic talent in the region.

Not that I’d suggest a direct copy, but one place which has gotten this right, is Adelaide’s festival theatre.

A space which could easily become a place of congregation for undesirables, has instead been transformed into an iconic feature in which people, art and nature can interact.

 

Surely a lot nicer (and more practical) than a manky old boat.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Editorial, Lifestyle, Local Government, Media. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to QE2 Square, visions for the future.

  1. jr says:

    Great idea, Jack. Interpretive art that stirs the soul into action whilst taking in some fresh air, or out for a stroll etc, is indeed the way forward.

    The one thing that does get up my nose is that “blatant ad” for Queensland’s “glorious” nectar, XXXX, on the new library/museum building. It just doesn’t cut it with me. Lovely it might be on the inside, but outside, mmmmm.

    So leave the beer ad where it is, around the corner, out of sight of some decent visual art.

    By the way, I knew that paddle steamer was going to be a white elephant right from its first announcement, but what would I know about how to spend Bi-Centenial grant money.

  2. Indeed, actually a photographic mural wall would look about right I reckon JR, how about the alburywodongaonline banner forty feet tall and 150 feet long on a big glass billboard? it’d look fantastic lit up at night!

    BTW JR, I’m afraid I lost your home address, would you be able to email it to Dave from Albury? (don’t email it to me, I don’t have the net on at home anymore) The plan is to head off on Sunday between 10-11am I believe.

  3. raydixon says:

    Sunday? It’s tomorrow isn’t it?

  4. jr says:

    Right, Ray (and Jack), Saturday it is.

    Jack, that mural idea, I can only dream.

    I have let Dave know that i have to take my own transport, Jack, as I have some business to attend to on the way to Milawa.

  5. PJ says:

    All I can say is please leave Kim’s memorial.

    I have never seen it but one day I hope to visit and remember.

Leave a Reply

