Big Pond…deep too.

Some months back, I signed up for Big Pond broadband, I was unhappy with my previous ISP, so I decided to change.

Nothing wrong with that you say, and you’d be right, except when I transferred my account, Telstra, bless ’em, neglected to cap the account.

I realised this when I received the first month’s bill, well above the contract price by several hundred schmackeroos.

Over the past few months I’ve been whittling away at it, and I have made some headway, but I’ve decided in the interests of my own stress levels to disconnect the Internet at home.

Based on the concept that when you are in a hole, the first step is to stop digging.

Rest assured AWOL will continue on strong, I’m not going anywhere, I’ll just be posting from public internet terminals rather than my own lounge room.

The spin off effect for you guys the readers is that it may take slightly longer for me to respond to comments made.

Other than that, it’s business as usual, just letting everyone know up front so you didn’t think I’d forgotten about you all. 

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Editorial, Media. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Big Pond…deep too.

  1. Greg Naylor says:

    You’re one step ahead of me Jack. A recent post on my Blog decried the lack of broadband at acceptable rates and I too may be dropping offline when my current contract expires on 31 August. If we lived a little closer, there might be an opportunity for us to open an Internet Cafe

  2. raydixon says:

    That’s a shame Jack, just when you were starting to really branch out. Working from outside internet points is going to restrict you a fair bit in terms not only of response, but in uploads. I hope you can overcome this, especially with the council elections coming up. I think Albury-Wodonga needs you.

  3. Bummer.

    Still, if you ever want to get back on, iinet is apparently really good.

  4. oh well thanks Ray, rest assured, I’m not going anywhere, I just plan to work from public terminals for a while.

    Meantime I’ve managed to get quite a bit done in the garden, it looks like I might nearly be ready for spring after all.

Leave a Reply

