New theme.

No you don’t need to adjust your browser, I had a bit of feedback that the site was looking a bit drab, unexiting I guess so I switched to a new theme.

I had been dreading the process but it was actually pretty painless.

All the feaures remain intact, comments can be posted as usual.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to New theme.

  1. Looking good now. There was crap all over the place a little while ago, completely freaked me out. Being a Mac using elitist snob it’s horrible when you find a site that doesn’t want to render properly, it can be quite upsetting to one’s aesthetic sensibilities.

  2. yeah I bet, I tried a few themes and I’ve settled on this one for now.
    The banner image is a little smaller than I’d like, the title text is kind of small and a boring font, and there seems to be a lot of blank space around the top of the page but it does have the added advantage of attributing the author at the top of each post.

    That’s important because AWOL has just recruited a new contributor.

    Exciting stuff huh?

  3. Good stuff. To be honest less is often more when it comes to web design, the old template often looked a bit crowded and the comment field on this one is much better to use.

  4. KK Juggy?, I had a look but I couldn’t find one of her starkers.

    Here’s one of her back in the halcyon days of MGF, your imagination will have to “fill in the blanks”

  5. I bumped the comment thread up the batting order, it used to be near the bottom, but I figured there were a lot of other features which it could go in front of.

    It’s a lot more convenient to see who said what with it nearer the top.

  6. raydixon says:

    I agree about ‘less is best’. I don’t put the calendar in because I figure most people know the date. Likewise I reckon people don’t visit my blog for the weather forecast, the zodiac predictions or to have their vocabulary expanded. And online polls are not worth the paper they’re not written on.

    I have my recent comments set at 10 or 12 so people’s comments don’t slip off the front page so quickly.

    I also created an index of posts for quick reference – you can create one using the “write new page” feature and putting in the links.

    Of course I’m vain enough to include my own photo (and one of GG) but that’s just my personal bent.

    Otherwise your new theme looks real good Jack – er, umm or is it “Dave”? Well it is according to your friend Iain.

  7. Otherwise your new theme looks real good Jack – er, umm or is it “Dave”? Well it is according to your friend Iain.

    You are joking aren’t you?

  8. Lord help me I foolishly posted a comment on the bearded blatherer’s blog.

    He’s obviously seen the word “Albury” assumed I was “Dave from Albury” and called me Dave.

    Newsflash, “Queensland hill-billy puts two and two together, comes up with five”.

    Just another day in the sub-rural paradise that is Mt. Mee.

    I think “friend” is a bit of a stretch Ray, I posted there twice, called him stupid in one comment and ignorant in the other.

    With friends like that eh?

  9. raydixon says:

    I nearly fell off my chair too Dave (from Albury). Yeah, I think a wrong assumption was made that Jack was you. Your fame has spread all the way to Queensland it seems.

    PS: I used the word “friend” in jest of course. I understand how you feel.

  10. good, well you’ll be pleased to see I’ve increased the number of visible comments.

    I’ll move the recent posts and links up the sidebar, but I’m reluctant to ditch the other stuff.

    I read the weather myself.

    Nothing looks worse than an empty sidebar I reckon

  11. The thing is, Iain reads Ray’s blog where both of us comment, so it would seem that he thinks that I’m the world’s most committed sock puppeteer.

    Give me a minute, I need a minute to log out of wordpress before I can post as Jack again

  12. I smell shenannagins a brewin’

  13. aw he deleted me, what a sorry sack of sad he is.

    Well I’ve only got myself to blame, I need to remember to wash my hands after I go into an internet toilet like that.

  14. raydixon says:

    Increasing the size of the recent comments section is a great idea, Jack. It increases the number of Dave & Ray head shots (well, partial head shot in Dave’s case), which kinda dresses up your site, don’t you think?

  15. you don’t find Greg’s photo ornamental then?

  16. It adds an element of class to the place Ray.

  17. Can you switch the avatar and the date/time? It’d also make things a lot neater.

  18. would you guys like administrator status? is that what you’re trying to tell me?

  19. LOL, feeling a little overwhelmed mate?

  20. bloody back-seat bloggers.
    😉

  21. raydixon says:

    Bugger Greg’s photo, can you get KK’s up here?

  22. raydixon says:

    Btw, Jack, while we’re giving you “orders” about your site format, any chance you could set the clock to the right time? Just go to settings. I think it’s +10. Otherwise we’ll just keep posting in the morning, when it’s really at night.

  23. the things I do for you guys….sheesh

  24. the link or the changed time?

  25. raydixon says:

    I see it now. She has a very nicely shaped mouth, right size.

  26. raydixon says:

    Well done on the time too.

  27. I think she used to often wear strategically placed baloons on stage which she’d pop during the performance for a bit of added titilation.

  28. there’s also this one, obviously she’s the one on the left.

    Here’s what she looks like now, performing with circus Oz.

  29. raydixon says:

    I thimk we should get KK over here for our Spring Festival. She’s liven things up.

  30. raydixon says:

    Did you notice how many typos I just made? Geezus.

  31. using just the one hand were you?

  32. Greg Naylor says:

    By the way, Ray, when are you going to update your 20th century photo of yourself. That is as big an alias as ‘Jack Stone”. Well. at least this one allows you to walk the streets of Bright in relative safety 😉

  33. raydixon says:

    Uh, uh, it was taken in 2004 Greg and I still look the same. The hair? That’s err, a management issue.

  34. New theme is very good. Identify’s who wrote what post. I must say I’m never a fan of little graphics to represent things (like the horoscope comic on the sidebar), but yeah, I’m just another “plain = good” design freak. I like the new ordering on the side bar. Time for my first AWOL post I think…

Leave a Reply

