Gathering storm?

Recently I ran a piece about some disturbing observations I made while volunteering at the wildlife sanctuary at Ettamogah.

Since then I have been contacted by a local journalist seeking my input.

Obviously I stand behind my observations as far as untoward practices at the sanctuary, and in the interests of having the matter made public, I have provided my name for publication.

During the conversation I had with said journalist, he relayed the response from Arthur Fraunfelder that my observations were “largely exaggerated”.

While I vehemently refute that assertion, (indeed I was directed by an RSPCA officer to “write down everything I saw that was even of the slightest concern, whether I thought it was serious or not”) it does console me to some extent that the RSPCA inspection which I instigated “identified some issues” which cr. Fraunfelder claimed “have been addressed”.

As far as I’m concerned, that is an official admission that things are not altogether rosy at the sanctuary, for the RSPCA to identify ANY “issues” which relate to animal welfare at a wildlife sanctuary is evidence that standards fall far short of what the public is entitled to expect.

There are also serious questions which need to be asked about Arthur Fraunfelder’s impartiality in this matter.

There is a clear conflict of interest that Arthur Fraunfelder is acting simultaneously as the head of the local RSPCA, veterinary officer for them and as a serving member of the local council.

Obviously Arthur Fraunfelder’s role as local councillor and council’s vested interest in promoting the sanctuary as both a tourist attraction and local recreational facility are at odds with his role as RSPCA inspector in providing an impartial assessment about animal welfare.

If the story is run in the mainstream press it will mean breaking my anonymity, but I think it’s a small price to pay for bringing this situation to the light of public scrutiny.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Council, Local Government. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Gathering storm?

  1. Greg Naylor says:

    Anonymous whistleblowers never get heard. You are to be commended for “putting your anonymity where your mouth is”.

    It is obvious from the previous post that you are not alone in your views and that the issues raised should be put up for public scrutiny.

    Whilst a blog is a fine tool for airing concerns, it is nowhere near as effective as the mainstream press to let the wider community know the facts.

  2. raydixon says:

    Has the story run yet, AWOL Jack Krypto Mr Who?

  3. raydixon says:

    That should read AWOL too.

  4. I had a flip through the paper and there was nothing in there today, I’ll look again tommorrow.

    We’ll see I guess.

    No point trying to guess if, when, and what kind of article will run.

  5. Good on you for doing everything in your power to bring this story to light. Putting your name to something contentious like this takes courage, you are to be commended for your decision.

  6. Well thanks all for your support, it was a bit of a no brainer, it was put to me that unless I provided my name for publication the story would be buried.
    I wasn’t about to let that happen but I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to a good deal of trepidation about having my identity known.
    At least my number is unlisted, so it will be difficult for people out there aggreived at something I may have written to locate me physically, but having said that, it is still a very small town.

  7. Pingback: Profile: Arthur Frauenfelder | Kieran Bennett

  8. Pingback: Border Mail turns their backs. « Albury Wodonga Online

Leave a Reply

