Daniel to be laid to rest in Albury.

The remains of toddler Daniel Thomas will be buried in a ceremony in Albury this Friday after the coroner released his remains into the custody of his mother, but tensions between the deceased boy’s estranged parents threaten to mar the event.

As the SMH reported;

Kevin Ruffels said the family of his former wife, Donna Thomas, had made it clear he was not welcome to attend his son’s funeral, whose remains were unearthed beneath a house in the town of Myrtleford, north-east of Melbourne, in March, four years after he disappeared.

“I’ve been threatened that I’ll get my head bashed in and everything but that’s not going to stop me attending the funeral. They can get stuffed,” Mr Ruffels told AAP.

 

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Crime. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Daniel to be laid to rest in Albury.

  1. JR says:

    They can’t even give that poor little mite a peaceful burial. Just shows you how much they must love their kids.

  2. raydixon says:

    “They can get stuffed”

    I wonder if Mandy will be there?

  3. I doubt Mandy Martyn will be there, I believe there is absolute anmity between her and the deceased kid’s mum (surprise surprise).
    It may well turn out that there is some trouble at the funeral, who knows, maybe even the press will come in for a pasting.

    The whole sorry episode is very sad, and a case-study in dysfunction it seems.

  4. raydixon says:

    And a case-study in police bungling – how did they not find the body under the house?

  5. yeah, I try to avoid retrospective analysis like that, tempting as it is.
    The body was found by dogs, you would think the police would use body sniffing dogs wouldn’t you?

Leave a Reply

