Nico Mathews, shameless populist?

I’ve folowed with some impartial interest the events surrounding the proposed introduction of a $2.00 fee for spectators at junior games at Albury sports stadium.

So I was interested to read this article in the Border Mail.

While the main body of the article wasn’t particularly telling (in my opinion), kind of a tale of local residents jumping up and down at their two favourite things being impinged upon, namely their hip pockets and sport (curious we don’t see Albury residents taking to the street in a similar fashion on weightier issues).

For me, the most telling part of the article came in Cr. Nico Mathews’ response,

I have received a lot of letters, emails and phone calls from the public against the fees, so I know which way I will be voting.

I just hope that my fellow counsellors will get the drift of what the public here today wants and rescind the motion next week,” Cr Mathews said

Wait a minuite, did I just read that correctly? “I have received a lot of letters, emails and phone calls from the public against the fees, so I know which way I will be voting“.

Yep, that’s what it said alright, all it takes to sway a publicly elected official and have him exert pressure on other councilors to adopt a similar view is apply a little pressure from a public lobby group three months out from an election.

The response wasn’t “this proposal is without merit” or “this proposal is not in the best interests of the community” but rather “I have received a lot of letters, emails and phone calls from the public against the fees, so I know which way I will be voting“.

He might have as well said “I know which side my bread is buttered on“.

Behold local democracy at the grassroots level in all it’s splendour.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Council, Editorial, Local Government. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Nico Mathews, shameless populist?

  1. raydixon says:

    Brad Worrall gave Nico a free plug in his column last Saturday. First he defended him for missing yet another council meeting (he had the dreaded ‘lurgy’ said Brad). Then he pointed out out how Nico, a truck driver, had in the same week alerted the police to someone doing 200kmh on the freeway (while driving his truck with the dreaded ‘lurgy’ no doubt). Another puff piece from our man Brad.

  2. You know “lurgy” is a made up ailment?, entirely fictional.

    Is it possible Brad wasn’t actually defending him but having a jibe in such an abstract way that no one understood what the hell he was on about?

    In any rate, I think it’s pretty obvious Nico is our “Daryl” (complete with DUI conviction).

  3. raydixon says:

    No, it was a defence piece. How did Nico get elected? Was it the old ‘mates at the pub’ thing? You know, one night someone down there says, “Yeah, let’s get Nico/Daryl on the council, then we can get free beer”. It works too, but usually only once.

  4. “I have received a lot of letters, emails and phone calls from the public against the fees, so I know which way I will be voting.”

    Want to trade Nico to the Surf Coast Council or City of Greater Geelong?

  5. raydixon says:

    He’d be great for detecting speeding drivers on the Geelong Freeway BLL, but he might bring the dreaded ‘lurgy’ down your way.

  6. Is “lurgy” a metaphor for corrupt nepotism?
    “you scratch my back I’ll scratch your’s”
    or “one hand washes the other clean” kind of thing?
    Maybe he was too busy picking up those brown paper envelopes from construction companies to actually bother attending council meetings?

Leave a Reply

