Cyber bullies…bless ’em.

Some of you may remember a little while ago, a charming little pedant calling themselves insider 01 commenting on this site who seemed to have a dummy spit and subsequent mental melt-down about a very general non-specific comment I made about Albury council.

Well, he she or they disappeared in a puff of acrimony never to be seen or heard from again, or so I thought.

Then I get this email from someone using the same “border_realist” email address (they “border” on being a “realist” perhaps?).

The banner image on your website is copyright to both the photographer and the customer who owns the image who will remain nameless for now. I suggest you remove it straight away before a claim is made against you.

Do not ignore this message.

Oooh scary. No I certainly don’t intend to ignore the message, it’s far too amusing not to share.

“Joint” copyright of an image, no that sounds perfectly viable, nothing fishy there at all. I know every time I’ve ever purchased the rights to an image from a photographer I’ve been more than happy for the photographer to retain the rights…that I’ve just bought.

Makes perfect sense.

Sadly I deleted an email from another person (at least sent from a different email address) claiming to have copyright of the image and insisting I remove it, the wording was suspiciously similar enough to suggest it might well have been written by the same hand.

In any rate, my general response is this, until I see proof of copyright to permit or deny use, the image stays where it is.

Anyone can generate an email address and claim to be anyone else, I’d have to be pretty gullible to just take on face value a threatening email from a petty backstabber like insider 01.

The image isn’t being used for commercial gain and wasn’t copy protected (a common precaution where copyright infringement is a concern).

It seems to me, insider 01 is just a sad little twerp going out of their way to make life difficult, cyber bullying in other words.

Can you imagine the lawsuit that would ensue if amatuer (ie not for profit) blogs like this one were sued for use of images without copyright?

Twelve year old little Timmy wants to put up a picture of Indiana Jones to illustrate his post telling all his friends he liked the film, “better get a lawyer son”.

We are talking about literally thousands of sites, and probably millions of images.

It would make the war crimes tribunal at the Hague look like an afternoon of “Judge Judy” for sheer scale.

To the holder of copyright for the image I say this, demonstrate your claim to copyright and I’ll happily remove the image on your request.

To insider 01 I say, this kind of backstabbing underhanded greaseball tactic is a really rather wretched indictment on your slimy character.

If you take exception to an opinion I have expressed, debate the point on it’s merits, don’t slink off and pull some underhanded (and frankly laughable) attempt at sabotage, that’s the act of a worm, not a man.

Odd that I should get two emails in a week hinting at legal action and then Bradley Worrall’s sad attempt at a journalistic opinion piece.

If I were that way inclined it might lead me to speculate about the true identity of “insider 01”.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Editorial. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cyber bullies…bless ’em.

  1. raydixon says:

    Is it an image the Border Mail has used?

  2. I’m 90% certain that WIN news has used it, as for the BM? who knows?
    I don’t think it’s at all unreasonable to expect someone to provide evidence of their claim to copyright if they are invoking it to force removal of an image.

  3. I’d say WIN news actually owns copyright, they are a commercial operation and wouldn’t use an image for commercial gain without making sure they had the rights to it.
    You buy the rights to an image from a photographer, the physical print image costs virtually nothing it’s the copyright that they charge you for.

    I certainly haven’t gotten any correspondance from anyone identifying themselves as being from WIN.

  4. raydixon says:

    I wouldn’t worry then. Even if you’re breaching copyright the owner would be required to give you formal notice and, as long as you removed it, there’s nothing further they could do (because you haven’t used it for commercial gain).

  5. no, I’m certainly not worried, I am more than a little amused at the gutless tactics being employed in lieu of an actual argument though.

  6. JR says:

    OK, AWOL, for what its worth, from a photographer’s perspective, I’ll only add that it costs $s to create the image. My fuel bill last month alone, searching for locations, was giving me the irrates. And I’m one of the lucky ones, because I get paid when I present my invoice to the client.

    But then again, I’ll raise my hand and offer you a panorama of the (once grand) Murray River, that would fit the bill nicely, in my opinion. That way you can tell that faceless slime it’s time to get off the bus, NOW!

    Let me know if you’d like a peek at your new banner pic.

    Sincere regards, Jim Roelofs

  7. Jim, without commiting myself, I was considering updating the banner anyway, as you can see, it hasn’t scaled all that well.
    I did look at a number of panoramic nature images, and yes, there are some wonderful natural visages around the local area, but I was kind of looking for something a little more urban.

    Albury Wodonga has fostered it’s image as a “country” town for so long and I think it’s increasing shift towards urbanisation in attitude.

    I was looking for an image that reflected that, as well as being aesthetically pleasing (and mildly iconic of course).

  8. JR says:

    Have a look at http://www.pbase.com/jrdigitalart and look at the Murray River shot there. A freebie.

    Sincere regards, Jim Roelofs

  9. http://www.pbase.com/jrdigitalart/image/78864883
    do you mean this one Jim?
    It’s lovely, really classy shot.
    Do you mind if I edit it to include the “Albury Wodonga Online” text?

  10. JR says:

    Yeah, mate, that’s the one. Give me a PM and we can arrange hand over of exact dimensioned net ready image.

    Sincere regards, JR

  11. JR says:

    Oh, and I can also show you a 4.5metre X 1.4metre version of the image, if you’re interested.

    Sincere regards, JR

  12. woah, that’s massive, I couldn’t even display that in my hallway.
    If you want to email me your mobile number I’ll be in touch.

    Thanks, that’s really great.
    Very kind of you.

  13. JR says:

    I very rarely use my mobile (yeah, I know, unusual in these days), only when I’m on the road. But if you email me at jrdigitalart@westnet.com.au, I’ll give you my landline #.

    Sincere regards, JR

Leave a Reply

