Spic and span, but still ugly as sin.

“Mummy, why does that spaceship look like a giant penis?”

Wodonga’s water tower is undergoing a high pressure cleaning at the moment, an exercise arguably as futile as putting make-up on this.

Nonetheless, the three days work, billed to the ratepayers are intended to make the Wodonga eyesore icon gleam.

Wodonga Mayor Rod Wangman said the cleaning work was being done not only to give the water tower a facelift, but also to heighten the effect of the lights, which were switched on at the tower last year.

“It is estimated we are getting only 20 per cent of reflectivity from the existing water tower surface and the clean should lift this significantly,” he said.

“After cleaning, the tower’s structure will be evaluated to see if any additional works need to be done.”

I could suggest an appropriate works programme.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Council, Editorial, Local Government, Wodonga. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spic and span, but still ugly as sin.

  1. Concerned parent says:

    That water tower looks like a giant penis to me.
    A circumcised penis, even.
    Now that I have seen that, I am aroused.
    Who knows what I will do now?
    Hang on, are those some teenagers I see near the giant penis? I bet they are being corrupted by it!
    The fact that they are staring up at it, could that mean they are worshiping it in some way?
    Clearly, evil is abroad in Wodonga. Can someone call the cops and have the water tower removed from sight before someone does something dangerous?

  2. raydixon says:

    You might be misjudging the Wang man AWOL, this is just stage one of the conversion of the water tower into Australia’s biggest tourist attraction – the world’s first giant fleshlight. It’s gunna look mighty pretty under all those lights.

    (Maybe he could get Tania to do the, er, opening)

  3. Concerned parent, usually I do the extremist lunatic schtick on this forum.
    We don’t want to have a demarcation dispute over who gets to play the extremist lunatic do we?

    Ray, will anyone be growing any marrows in the vicinity of the water tower?

  4. raydixon says:

    OK Jack I’ll fall for it, what’s the connection between Tania & marrows you keep hinting at? Apart from the obvious phallic symbol they represent was there any suggestion she, er, used one?

  5. no, not that I’m aware of Ray, maybe Angry Anderson knows, he seems to be the resident expert on the er…comings and goings.

    The marrow thing, well have you ever seen one? they’re bloody huge.
    It’s kind of an implied slur about her “dimensions” if you catch my meaning.

Leave a Reply

