Without fear or favour?

Recent debate about the Albury based website “BORDERLINE Albury Wodonga” got me thinking, “where do I know this Paul Greene chap from?”.

Google drew a blank, sure I saw the interview with him on the Prime news segment, and I knew I had seen him before.

Alas I had to rely on the comparatively slower and infinitely less reliable method of actually remembering.

In fact it was an article on BORDERLINE that actually jogged my memory, an article about the proposed child-care development at Fromholz park.

Scan back about six months to a community meeting I attended and….yep, I’d be willing to bet money that Paul Greene was (and in all likely hood still is) a member of the “Save Fromholz Park” group.

So, if I’m right, Paul “without fear or favour” Greene may not be as non partisan as he would have us believe.

I guess time will tell if Mr Greene’s name appears on a ballot paper for the council elections in September.

I don’t really have strong views on the proposed creche development, but I don’t think that Albury council has put forward a very clear case as to why the development should go ahead at such a de-centralised location and why it needs to occupy a site currently occupied by wildlife.

I think there has been a fairly deliberate attempt to stymie public debate over the location of the proposed site.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Council, Editorial, Local Government. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Without fear or favour?

  1. raydixon says:

    Yes that’s him AWOL, it was mentioned in the Border Mail “attack” article on Borderline. I’m not an Albury resident so the Fromholz Park issue is none of my concern but, as a principle, I do not agree with public parklands (of which there are increasingly less) being turned into building sites, albeit for a creche.

  2. I have no objection to the development per se either but I definitely think the way it has been handled raises some serious questions.

    Anyway, by the sounds, we are going to see a nice juicy exposay on the back room deals that have led to the development being ushered in by council without the debate that might surround, say, being able to buy a slice of pizza on Dean Street after midnight.

  3. raydixon says:

    I see Borderline is under threat over that Colquhoun piece. Sounds like it’s serious.

  4. Wasn’t the point of the piece to arouse ire?
    Looks like it’s worked.
    Anyway, like I always say, it’s only slander if it isn’t true.
    I guess (assuming Greene’s information is correct) proving it will be the big ask.

    You know the saying “money talks”? well it also shuts people up.

Leave a Reply

