Stanley Street development site, have your say.

Wodonga council are seeking public input on their development plans for the soon to be defunct Stanley Street pool complex, suggestions and input can be given here

Perhaps while you’re there you can throw your hat into the ring for the council CEO position currently up for grabs.

On matters pool related, the development plans for the new Whitebox rise aquatic centre are currently on display, a full size of the image below can be found here.

My advice, don’t ask where all the water is going to come from or where all the chlorine contaminated waste water is going to go, he’s not well renowned for his sense of humour about touchy subjects like that is Wodonga’s mayor.

Stay tuned for Wodonga’s new Coloseum, the Great Wall of Wodonga, the Great Pyramid of Wodonga, the Hanging Gardens of Wodonga, the Colossus of Lake Hume, and the Great Statue of Wangman soon to be constructed at Mount Olympus. 

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Council, Local Government, Wodonga. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Stanley Street development site, have your say.

  1. raydixon says:

    Could we please see at least a concept drawing of the “Great Statue of Wangman”, full body length preferably, complete with wang?

  2. well Ray, I’m not too keen on the mental image of a nude statue of Rodders, much less an artist’s depiction of his altogethers.
    I guarantee you one thing, if anyone out there is fool enough to produce such an image, it won’t be appearing on THIS site.

  3. raydixon says:

    Unlike the Wodonga Water Tower “fleshlight” one D from A put together a while back? Come on, he’ll only sue you if you make it too small (therefore don’t make it less than one inch and you’ll be fine).

  4. JR says:

    AWOL, you make it sound as if the water is precious or something.

    As for a clearly defined wang, the local scuptor would find it too easy, as he has already done the balls at the entrance to Mexico.

  5. raydixon says:

    Ah yes, those replicas of an infant’s toy. What is that about? I think you’re on safe ground in revealing the Wang’s wang AWOL, go for it.

  6. raydixon says:

    Surely someone could photo-shop this to get the Wanger’s face on it (I can’t):

    Or this (well, you never know):

    Cheers.

  7. oh for the love of Mike, a bollocks out statue of Wangman is just in the worst imaginable taste.
    I’m not even game to open those links.

  8. damn me and my insatiable curiosity, the second one looks more like him I think.

    Amazing, all this talk of bollocks and not one reference to Sophie Mirabella.

    Oops.

  9. raydixon says:

    It’d look great alongside the water fleshlight tower.

  10. or perched on top of it perhaps.

  11. clubwah says:

    Chlorine disipates from water very quickly which why you have to keep chlorinating pools. There are also water treatment systems to get rid of chlorine and all the other elements that gather in the filtration system. I wouldn’t worry too much about the water.

    Wah, I realise chlorine disapates, but it’s still pretty toxic in the short term and who knows about the long term effects? Given our overall history of returning reasonable quality water into our waterways I think some reservation is entirely justified.

  12. JR says:

    I knew those coloured lights were facing in the wrong direction

  13. perhaps a fountain could be incorporated?

  14. raydixon says:

    Wah’s right about the chlorine AWOL, a small amount doesn’t hurt you either. All our drinking water in Bright is drawn direct from the Ovens River and treated … with chlorine. No one’s died or got sick from it yet and it tastes great, although sometimes you can smell the chlorine.

    PS: And the fountain’s stream of water would flow from Wang’s wang I guess? Beautiful suggestion #2.

  15. yes, I’ve been drinking chlorinated water myself for some time Ray, I’m certainly not hitting the panic button over the issue but the amount of chlorine used in treating a pool is far greater than that used to treat water for drinking.

    I remember when I was a kid, there was a blonde haired guy who uesed to come out of the pool looking like the Joker (complete with green hair) after every swimming lesson.

    Chorine is a toxic substance and in sufficiently high levels can cause problems both environmentally and for people’s health.

    I realise waste water is subject to monitoring before it’s returned to the waterways I’d just hate to think all that chlorine ended up in the environment.

  16. raydixon says:

    It won’t AWOL, it breaks down and bloody quick. Anyway, I agree the pool’s an incredible indulgence and was obviously designed to attract votes. Maybe it should be paid for by the users. Work it out, cost of about $8million I believe, divided by, oh, about 5,000 regulars = $1,600 each. Hmm, a bit cheaper than a backyard pool. Not a bad alternative funding scheme eh?

  17. perilously close to bribery if you ask me Ray.

  18. wodonga says:

    the mayor should be thinking about schools not a swimming pool how many do we have now who’s gonna use it?
    he should be using the money for something we need we dont need lights on the water tower we don’t need water fountians on stanley st by the way they never get used!!!! its aload of bull!! and didn’t they run out of money trying to build that pool?? he shouldn’t be the mayor we need more schools more public transport

Leave a Reply

