The Glory of a World Premiere

the-glory-photo-andrew-penner.jpg

It’s not every-day that Albury Wodonga plays host to a world premiere of a theatrical production, but that’s exactly what happened last Thursday when HotHouse theatre performed the Wal Cherry award winning play “the Glory” at the Butter Factory theatre on Gateway Island.

“I don’t see The Glory as a War Play. I would prefer to see it being read as a play about a family –  and the themes and issues may include, conflict, secrecy, honor, duty and patriotism.  The play itself is fiction, it is not based on a true story and the plot points have no relationship to historical accuracy. I have done this so the play is not bogged down with an historical reference point. I think it opens the door a little more this way” says writer Ross Mueller.

“The Glory is about discussion and forgiveness. It is about misinformation and families. The idea for The Glory appeared when Australia committed troops to a war without any sort of formal discussion inside or outside parliament. 9 / 11 has triggered everything. From the way we speak to the way we feel”.

The Glory will run until April 5th at the Butter Factory theatre, bookings can be made on 02 6021 7433   

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Arts, Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

