March heatwave continues.

Our unseasonal March swelter shows no signs of abating with the bureau of meteorology predicting another week of consecutive days the mercury will hit thirty degrees.

In a week of searing temperatures, border residents have been trying to escape the heatwave more reminiscent of high summer.

Total fire bans remain in place across much of the country, Adelaide has had a record nine days where the temperature has exceeded 35 degrees.

It may be officially Autumn, but it seems no-one told the weather.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to March heatwave continues.

  1. Bruce says:

    Goddam it had to be so hot didn’t it! I’m just glad Tuesday has been downgraded to 33. Then by Thursday we’ll be back below 30. Fweh.

  2. raydixon says:

    It’s friggin’ insane. Over here in Bright we’ve got the ridiculous scenario of the autumn leaves dropping early (due to the big dry) on parched ground. Is it “global warming” AWOL, or just a freak of nature? Stuffed if I know.

  3. I deliberately wasn’t going to mention climate change, it’s always contentious.
    In all honesty though, I doubt you can conclusively prove the involvement of climate change based on one period of peculiar weather, I think we’d have to see a trend of similar weather occuring year after year.
    I think based on the last few years we can safely say that the patterns of rainfall are changing and we are experiencing more hot weather.
    Is our present march swelter part of climate change? who knows but I think I’d want to see a repeated trend occur before I said one way or the other.

Leave a Reply

