Services for Disabled people? “not in MY back-yard”

red_neck_car.jpg 

Residents of Bell Street Lavington have presented council with a petition voicing opposition to a disability training facility to be be built in their street.

In one of the less charming displays of community mindedness seen in recent years, residents of Bell street have opposed the project on the grounds that it “might” adversely effect property values.

Lovely.

Apparently a neighbourhood peppered with intolerant red-necks who wouldn’t know compassion if it head-butted them isn’t a concern for property values.

It’s a text-book example of the NIMBY (not in my back-yard) mentality Albury has sadly become infamous for in recent years. 

Sensibly, Albury council disregarded the petition and voted unanimously in support of the project.

About alburywodongaonline

Hi I'm Jack Stone (a pseudonym), I'm a long-time Albury resident and I think it's a great place to live and work. I have a strong interest in local events and media and I started this site because I think a different perspective is often needed when reporting local news. I take a keen interest in local politics, as well as what's going on at the state and federal level, I'm also a supporter of social justice issues, the envirionment and the need for people to have a say in the events that effect their lives. I'm a fan of the Border Bandits and I'd love to see both teams take the flag this year, and next year, and maybe the one after that too.
This entry was posted in Albury, Council, Editorial, Local Government. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Services for Disabled people? “not in MY back-yard”

  1. raydixon says:

    Love the shot. I’ve used a different shot of the same two “rednecks” in an old post I did about our redneck, hillbilly retrogrades here in Bright. Bloody beautiful – it sums ’em up.

    What the f#*k is wrong with a “disability training facility” anyway? Are these people stupid?

    Oh, dumb question … they’re rednecks, it’s the same thing.

  2. I think they should “name and shame” the signatories to that disgraceful petition. I’m very impressed by Albury council giving it the short shrift it deserves.
    This kind of rubbish really shoots down the “looking after our own community” image country people like to paint themselves with doesn’t it?
    Apparently complete absence of compassion isn’t the exclusive domain of metropolitain dwellers.
    It’s absolute selfishness in the most dispicable extreme sense.

  3. Lavington, home of social inclusion, good grace and civic mindedness.

  4. hey, I live in Lavington. Like I keep telling you Dave, East Albury isn’t Toorak.
    I obviously need to do a story on something good going on in Lavington.

  5. Nah, just wait until the inevitable bogan/criminal story pops up about Eastern Circuit and you can rub my nose it it.

    That said, I had a job going door to door for a Real Estate Agent a few years ago and on the whole I found that I was more likely to come across people who were rude, aggressive, drug or alcohol affected or involved in a very vocal domestic dispute when I was between Urana Rd and Griffith Rd.

  6. I don’t dispute that finding at all, I’d suggest a more formal survey would probably come up with similar results.(apparently there isn’t enough of it to warrant a police station being built in Lavington however).

    I don’t know that someone needs to be any of those things you mention to object to a “nice” community service like a disabled training facility, I’d suggest the requisite there is just to be an out and out pig.
    Name ’em and shame ’em I say.

  7. Pingback: “Vigilante” buisiness owner escapes conviction. « Albury Wodonga Online

  8. raydixon says:

    “East Albury isn’t Toorak”

    Shattering news.

  9. You heard it here first.

  10. raydixon says:

    See those two rednecks in the picture? The one on the right is “Bill” from Bright and the other is “SEdwards”, who lives in Melbourne but has certain, er, connections to a business in the town of Bright.

    They’re both actively opposing the Coles supermartket in Bright. Why? Well they don’t meet the dress code to start with.

  11. well you’re welcome to photoshop a “save Bright” placard into the shot somewhere.

  12. raydixon says:

    This is the post where I used a different shot of the two rednecks above. Actually I called them “Lee & Nick”, who are real identities. But their names change all the time and they’re interchangeable so “Bill & SEdwards” are just as appropriate,.

    They’re f#&kin’ geniuses these two:
    http://alpineopinion.wordpress.com/2007/05/29/savebrights-grand-plan/

  13. I’d bet money on their appeal being thrown out and a Coles in Bright by the end of the decade.
    I don’t see what all the fuss is about myself.

    Sure it’s silly to oppose the project, but I bet every one of them shops at Coles Bright when it’s built.

Leave a Reply

